I’m Back

Look who has returned from the grave.

That was a terrible joke I apologize. Anyway, I am back from my small hiatus that I never actually stated I was taking. Awkward. I hit a few bumps in the road, screwed up a couple more relationships like always, but I am back and I am getting help again.

Guess who has started a new medication? The same person who can no longer drink grapefruit juice again. I guess it won’t be that much of a loss though considering that during my time where I was not on medication, I have drunk exactly 0% of grapefruit juice, haven’t even thought about it. Clearly, it was not that important to me.

I am starting on Sertraline as of tomorrow morning which is an antidepressant known as a SSRI. It is prescribed to treat depression and other mood disorders such as anxiety and obsessive compulsive disorder. I am mainly taking it for Social Anxiety, but also to lift my mood. I will be on 25mg a day for a week, but after that week it is being increased to 50mg.

Here comes my favourite bit – the side effects. So, what is the most common side effect I hear you ask? Anxiety. Yes, you heard correctly. The most common side effect of Sertraline is anxiety. What am I taking this medication for? Anxiety. Well isn’t this just lovely. The next most common side effect is sexual dysfunction with a reduced libido. So that should be great fun, treating my anxiety with more anxiety and a side of sexual dysfunction. Purrrrr-fect.

I really want this medication to work so I can finally talk to people because it has ruined so much recently where I haven’t been able to talk and it is super embarrassing.

I don’t know how frequently I will update these days but I hope I won’t forget like last time. Oops.

 

This is me signing off.

-Charlotte-

 

Leave a Reply

